How to Wear your Kilt Proudly

tommy_tartans

It’s my day off! And yes I have nothing musical to write about today. I am making this post as an excuse for that lack of energy to check my myspace band page, to surf the net or to make decent reviews of the albums I own or listened to that I haven’t done before.

A few weeks ago I opened a discussion about wearing of Kilts. Now it’s making a comeback after realizing I have nothing musical to put here. It doesn’t matter if you are not from the Highlands. It has traveled among the Seven Celtic Nations and beyond. I know a Scottish-Filipino guy in this country who plays the bagpipes really well. And that’s complete with the kilt and all. The thing about kilt-wearing is that, it has a deceptive simplicity.  A great deal of elaboration in its preparation as can be seen in this video.

More resources can be found here.

You might want to buy this book.

Another interesting one from Japan

7 thoughts on “How to Wear your Kilt Proudly

  1. I totally agree with you that wearing a kilt should be encouraged, and I don’t just mean for Scotsmen.

    Anyone who wants to experience total freedom should wear a kilt at least once in their lives.

    I am so passionate about this that I have built a website on the theme of kilts, you can visit it here
    http://www.your-kilt.com

    Kind Regards,

    David.

    Like

  2. Dia dhuit,

    well, I’m not Scottish and I’m not Irish (only inside my very heart) but I love wearing the kilt. And I don’t know how you think about it, but women love men in kilts! 😉

    Slán go foíll,
    An Ciarraíoch

    Like

Leave a comment