That “Outlander” Theme – The Skye Boat Song

There was a commotion when the Outlander books by Diana Gabaldon got released in the 90s. I had no idea that years later they would finally end up in the small screen! Good reviews came pouring in and I found myself watching each episode.

I love the great thought that was put in many aspects of this show-cinematography, costumes etc. At first I was hesitant to watch because I thought it’s no different from the many TV shows that they are putting out there. But it is not.

If you are keen on watching every episode of Outlander, then you might have noticed the opening theme. It’s by Bear McCreary featuring the voice of Raya Yarbrough. It’s called The Skye Boat Song. I think it is a fitting intro to a beautiful series that will inspire people who are into Scottish history (or historical shows of any form).

I will surely follow this series. I could not add anything more than what has already written by fellow bloggers. But let me tell you this. When life is hard, you turn to stories not just for escape, but also for encouragement. These shows give you hope. You learn about yourself through the characters. Yes, strange as it may seem reading or watching beautiful movies or TV shows can be a form of personal reflection.

Never loose hope. Never give up. And most of all, strive to be happy, when happiness seems fleeting.

I hope you can take something inspiring out of the songs that I recommend-and the shows where they came from.

Leave a Reply

