Tags

, , , ,

To celebrate the Scottish spirit of independence, I scouted for old and new tunes from Celtic fiddler Iain Fraser. There is something magical in the way he plays that fiddle. It’s akin to silver snow falling. I’ve been looking forward to exchange messages with this legendary composer and I am glad I finally did. He is such a down- to- earth man with a positive energy which can be felt across the world and it shows even if you don’t meet him in person. I am sure those people who watched his many live shows can attest that his music is like a force of nature.22305_3871321308297_1864535303_n

He recently, over the summer, filmed some older Scottish material from his book of Fiddle Tunes and the link is below. He likes to promote the videos a bit more in advance of a new book coming out next year of older Canadian tunes. I encourage you to listen to these wonderful tunes. Just leave the blog on after the first tune because the rest will follow.

That’s just him unadorned. This man doesn’t need an orchestra. The rich emotion he brings out of the fiddle is huge as the orchestra itself. And I felt strangely fine after listening to his music. I hope you enjoy and have a great week!

About the videos:

A series of short videos of slow airs and slow strathspeys taken from my book of “Scottish Fiddle tunes.”
60 Scottish tune for the fiddle, published by Schott Music in 2006.

….about the tune.. it was first published by Niel Gow’s son Nathaniel in his “Fifth Collection of Strathspeys, Reels etc” in 1809. Although it is a lament for the death of a loved one, I think it has an underscore of optimism and celebration.

Film and Audio recording by James Law July 2014.