Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The Stubby Shillelaghs

Artist: The Stubby Shillelaghs
Album: Celtic-American
Release Date: 29/10/13
Genre(s): Celtic, Folk, Bluegrass
Location: Colorado, USA
Members: Shaughnessy McDaniel, Ryan Knaub, Eric Fischer, Andy Mithun
Pertinent Album Information: 25% of Sales of “Gotham’s Finest” will be going to the Children’s Miracle Network of Hospitals as part of a charity effort by the band
Label: Self-Released
Website Link: TheStubbies.net
Facebook Link: Facebook.com/thestubbyshillelaghs

EPK: artistecard.com/TheStubbies

Buy: http://thestubbyshillelaghs.bigcartel.com/

Bawdy and Beautiful, The Stubby Shillelaghs will release their third studio album, Celtic-American

We all need a good laugh. I know I need one. I can be silly at times and there have been too much drama in my life that a dose of  outrageous humour that The Stubby Shillelaghs with their third studio album Celtic-American. If you dig authentic Celtic humor then it is here. It’s in the lyrics, the melodies and the deliveries. I admit there are tunes which made me stop sipping my coffee in the middle and ask myself if I heard it right? Were they singing about Batman and Gotham city? And is it just me or the song Corn Shuckin’ Time isn’t really about the corn harvest?The Stubby Shillelaghs 

There are longer songs with complicated plot lines alluding to American history during the civil war. I think in the midst of the comedy,  The Stubby Shillelaghs stay true to the essence of what a Celtic music album should be. History, myth, humor and yes amazing instrumental arrangements: these things that always make listening to an album enjoyable.

I also checked twice if my eyes were failing me. It says in their press release:

 

In celebration of the superhero roots that influenced the band’s two parody/satire tracks, the band is donating 25% of their net profits from their single (or equivalent amount from a full album sale), “Gotham’s Finest”, to the Children’s Miracle Network. It’s their hope that through the song they can give back to the community that has nurtured them and allowed them to thrive for three amazing years and support the real heroes at the Children’s Hospital

The album will be released during the band’s Third Anniversary Halloween Bash on October 29th at Patrick’s Pub in Greeley.  Free beer, free prize giveaways and lots of live music to celebrate three years of Stubby Shillelaghs shows and the release of Celtic-American.

Wow so I got an advanced copy of the album? And this is for a good cause! I am really honored. I mean, this is really awesome and I enjoyed everything about it. People should have this as a remedy to depression or to get our minds off the global economic situation!

Other notable guest performers are Marc Gunn for the title track Celtic-American.  There’s also Meagan T and Kirsten Carpenter contributing their talents in several tracks. Celtic-American plays like a comedy/epic comic book that flowers with abundance of talent at every turn of the page. So yes they won me over. And I had a good laugh. Celtic-American has sixteen fun lovin’ tracks. More info at the links I posted above. Big thanks to Shaughness​y McDaniel for sharing this gem. 

Pre-order the CD here: http://thestubbyshillelaghs.bigcartel.com/