Tags

, , , ,

“Never allow someone to be your priority while allowing yourself to be their option.”
― Mark Twain

“Well, now
If little by little you stop loving me
I shall stop loving you
Little by little
If suddenly you forget me
Do not look for me
For I shall already have forgotten you

If you think it long and mad the wind of banners that passes through my life
And you decide to leave me at the shore of the heart where I have roots
Remember
That on that day, at that hour, I shall lift my arms
And my roots will set off to seek another land”
― Pablo Neruda, Selected Poems

“Ever has it been that love knows not its own depth until the hour of separation.”
― Kahlil Gibran

 

 

What I learned about life is that, never ever be ashamed of your pain just because other people tell you so.In the end people will do what they must do either for practical or for selfish reasons. Everyone is guilty of doing what they must do because it is either survival or because it looks right.  I have established this blog in such a way that I can just write about anything without losing followers.  So today’s article is dedicated to heartbreak.

These are recurring themes to most Irish and Scottish tunes and also in anything that is relatively Celtic. I think that we all have our dark times but what sharing it with true friends can ease down the pain. Before I post songs let me share a prose I wrote today. I won’t call it poetry because I don’t think it has what it takes to be called poetry, but what is important is the emotional feeling behind it.

It’s Just Blood and Milk  

Like a mother of a dead baby

whose breast is aching

because she is full of milk

that’s what this heart is suffering now

bleeding because it has no one to give its love to

not anymore…

and if you happen to pass by

please take what I can give

until the walls stop turning

until the pain subsides…

it’s all that I got now

all dreams

all hopes

now dying slowly….

so take what you can

out of this blood that is given freely

until time erases

what’s left,

and all shall fade in the wind

like the husk of memories

turning to ashes.

But don’t despair dear readers…at the end of this is a redemption song.

http://brokenrecordsband.com/

The first track is called  I Used To Dream by Scottish band Broken Records. It’s taken from their album Let Me Come Home released in 2010. Here’s an interesting blurb:

Use of the violin, cello, and accordion gives them a distinctly Scottish edge and their faster numbers have been known to provoke ceilidh dancing at gigs. The NME branded them the Scottish Arcade Fire, although this is an accolade previously bestowed on My Latest Novel. The band, who swap instruments when performing live, have received numerous comparisons to Arcade Fire, and have also been compared to The Verve and The Levellers. They were described by NME in 2008 as “one of the country’s most exciting new bands.”

My heart is sore, I dare not tell, my heart is sore for Somebody
I would walk a winter’s night all for a sight of Somebody

Music: traditional Irish; lyrics: traditional Scottish
Adapted by Connie Dover
From the CD, Somebody (Songs of Scotland, Ireland and Early America) by Connie Dover

“Ailein Duinn” performed by Karen Matheson (from the film’s OST)

Here is a story that ends tragically. The song itslef has an interesting background:

Ailein duinn (“Dark-haired Alan”) is a traditional Scottish song for solo female voice, a lament that was written in Gàidhlig for Ailean Moireasdan (“Alan Morrison”) by his fiancée, Annag Chaimbeul (“Annie Campbell”). In 1788, Ailean, a sailor, set off with his ship to Scalpay, Harris, where he and Annag would be married. In a tragic twist, the ship sailed into a storm and all on board were lost. Annag was devastated and lost her will to live, dying several months later. Her body was later discovered on the beach, not far from where Ailean’s body was found. Before she died, Annag composed this lament for her lost love.

Jealous Heart-Moya Brennan

Two thumbs up to the wonderful haunting voice of Moya Brennan.

Sinead O’Connor performing The Wolf Is Getting Married from her forthcoming album ‘How About I Be Me (And You Be You)?’ live on The Graham Norton Show 17th February 2012.

Here is the older and wiser Sinead O’Connor performing to the beat of her drum. Her style has always been a cross between traditional Irish and also modern rock. After all these years, the voice is still beautiful as ever.