Tags

, , , ,

Órla Fallon on tour in the US

Órla Fallon – singer, harpist and one of the original members of Celtic Woman

On tour this fall with songs from her latest release, ‘My Land’

After completing her first solo tour of the US this past spring, Órla Fallon is returning from Ireland to share her unique, Celtic creations with Irish-American music lovers across the country. Orla Fallon released her debut album, ‘My Land,’in early 2011, which premiered nationwide on public television, featuring one of the most iconic and legendary Irish musical groups – The Dubliners. Orla also takes the stage with the wonderful Dublin Gospel Choir, singer/songwriter Damien Dempsey and Irish crooner,Tommy Fleming to create an original Celtic blend. Órla Fallon’s ‘My Land’ was taped at the majestic Royal Hospital Kilmainham (RHK) in Dublin. RHK is one of the finest 17th-century buildings in all of Ireland. Additional shooting for the show took place throughout Ireland at various locations including: The Cliffs of Moher, Slea Head, the Dingle Peninsula, Forest Park in Gougane Barra, Rock of Cashel, Dublin, Portaferry, Strangford Lough and Downpatrick.

The show includes a combination of Órla’s solo material and classic Irish and American songs including: Morning Has BrokenI’ll Tell Me Ma,Spanish Lady, Ni Na LaIsle of Innisfree and many more. “‘My Land’ is the show that I have dreamed of making for many years,” says Fallon. “This show makes me think of home…of Ireland…the place I grew up in…the place I learned to sing and a place that I hope everyone gets to visit some day.” The CD includes eleven songs and collaborations with each of the aforementioned artists. The DVD is the entire, full-length concert recorded at RHK.

To continue her long-standing support of public television, the DVD ‘My Land’ will run in some of the cities in Órla’s upcoming tour. She is making some of the best seats to her second 2011 concert tour available to public television viewers across the country. Viewers who make a donation to their local public television stations during broadcasts of Órla Fallon’s ‘My Land’ can receive these tickets, the special companion DVD with extra footage exclusive to Public Television and a Public TV version of the CD, featuring three exclusive bonus songs as “thank you” gifts. Órla’s corresponding 25-city tour will run in 2011 from mid September through mid-November. “This is a big year for us,” said Fallon. “We are setting out to visit the most markets and see the largest number of fans since my last tour with Celtic Woman.” Órla Fallon on PBS– check your local listings or go to http://www.orlafallon.com. Tickets for the live performances are also available at the venues and cds/dvds can also be purchased at amazon.com, iTunes and atwww.orlafallon.com

For a full tour listing, for further information and biography go to www.orlafallon.com

ORLA FALLON ON TOUR LATE SUMMER EARLY FALL 2011:

September 23 Memphis, TN Bartlett Performing Arts Center 8:00PM

September 24 Nashville, TN James K. Polk Theatre 7:30PM

September 27 Chattanooga, TN UTC Fine Arts Center 7:30PM

September 28 Atlanta, GA Rialto Center for the Arts 7:30PM

September 29 Greensboro, NC Carolina Theatre 7:30PM

September 30 Charlotte, NC Blumenthal Performing Arts Center 7:30PM

October 2 Dayton, OH, Dayton Art Institute, 7:30PM

October 4 Erie, PA Mary D’Angelo Performing Arts Center 7:30PM

October 6 Bethlehem, PA ArtsQuest TBA

October 7 Stowe, VT Spruce Peak Performing Arts Center 8:00PM

October 8 Keene, NH Colonial Theatre 8:00PM

October 13 Spokane, WA Bing Crosby Theatre 7:00PM

October 14 Edmond, WA Edmonds Center for the Arts 7:30PM

October 15 Tacoma, WA Rialto Theatre TBA

October 16 Portland, OR Aladdin Theatre 8:00PM

October 19 Chico, CA Laxson Auditorium TBA

October 20 Sacramento, CA Crest Theatre 7:30PM

October 22 Berkley, CA Freight and Salvage Hall 8:00PM

October 25 Fresno, CA Tower Theatre 7:00PM

October 27 Malibu, CA Pepperdine Center for the Arts 8:00PM

October 29 Irvine, CA Barclay Theatre TBA

October 30 San Diego, CA Balboa Theatre 7:00PM

November 4 Tuscan, AZ Berger Center for the Arts 7:30PM

November 6 Phoenix, AZ Chandler Center for the Arts 3:00PM

November 10 Gainesville, FL University of Florida Performing Arts Center 7:30PM

November 11 Gainesville, FL University of Florida Performing Arts Center 7:30PM

=======================================================

It’s been ages since I last posted on a weekend. I never considered weekend as a ‘writing’ kind of day. But it is a special week and today is a special day so I got really inspired. I see that my facebook has a lot of interesting notification in terms of friends’ events. Twitter has given me interesting news. And I got awesome emails from people I have meant to talk to for ages.

Writing blurbs has been tricky for me. You don’t know if it really supports the article or interview you made. But I have always followed my heart and what it says. Being a fan helps. It makes you think of the things that made you read articles of you favorite artist or band. Sometimes at the end of it , there’s a lingering thought in mind that the writer should have added something more.

I run two blogs. This and an indie blog dedicated to bands that aren’t Celtic but still make amazing music. I think I am not running away from Celtic music by doing that. It just means that I am letting readers and musicians discover new music and what fusion can do to each style. I have always been a lover of fusion. So I guess that doesn’t make me a purest. A true music lover will always love music in whatever style .

=======================================================

Mick McAuley and John Doyle for a one-off gig!!!

Time
Tuesday at 21:00 – Wednesday at 00:00

Location
Cleere’s Theatre, Kilkenny

Parliament St,
Kilkenny, Ireland

Created by:

More info
It’s a good while since myself and John Doyle did a gig together- looking forward to it!!!!!

=======================================================

Fiach live in Workmans’ Club – Arthur’s Day w/full band

Time
22 September · 20:30 – 23:30

Location

Created by:

More info
Full band show with some new songs thrown in. Support from the very talented Eric McGrath . Guinness ahoy!

======================================================

Live Trad did it again

I enjoyed watching the live streaming done by LiveTrad last hight woohoo I am so addicted. More more more.