Donie’s Message of Peace

A guilty conscience needs to confess. A work of art is a confession.
Albert Camus

An artist is always alone – if he is an artist. No, what the artist needs is loneliness.
Henry Miller

Art is the desire of a man to express himself, to record the reactions of his personality to the world he lives in.
Amy Lowell

Photo Courtesy: Mary Ryan

Great weekend to you folks! Today I am showcasing the works of my friend Donie Ryan who is from Dublin. We have been friends for years. Every now and then he updates me with what he’s doing. It is really great to be able to talk to someone who is passionate with what he does and also like music!

Donie and I have been discussing about what’s happening around. In this vein I recall when a dear friend told me about the bombing in Norway. “It’s in the news!” I was so perturbed realizing how detached my life has been , avoiding the evening news. Things like this make people want to do something. Donie did and he is sharing his thoughts with us today here at CMF.

Photo courtesy of Mary Ryan

Photo courtesy of Mary Ryan

So can you tell us more about the story behind the painting?

As most people are horrified by war, I’m trying to make a statement about it.
It’s a new theme I and will be doing more of this series , silhouettes of war, the horror of it and what it does to people.
Art reflects the state of mind of the society. Do you think art can be healing too?
Yes in a way, comforting, if the viewer understands the painting I hope it gives them solace that other people are trying to make a difference.
The more people who see the work, the more it might enter their thoughts about war.
I started this theme because of the horrors in the middle east,  Syria and so on, things on the news that make you sick.
How long did you work in this painting? And what’s the approximated dimension?
about 10 to 12 hours
and the size?
38 x 22
Donie sent me this video by Phil Lynott and from then on I became a fan of this man’s music!
I believe that painters, like musicians, need clusters of like-minded people for support and inspiration. Do you hang out with other artists,running around with you in Dublin? And what are they like?
I have more musician friends than artists. Well I only have two artist friends
and their styles are quite different and also better as they went to art school. But it’s always good to get their constructive criticism, even though I generally don’t listen to them.
Hahahahaha I like that!
People always say ” you should of done this or not done that”, but these people are not artists, and every stroke is there for a reason.
So a series devoted to this idea is on the works. How long is it going to be?
im not sure but I’d like to do six anyway. But as I’ve told you,  I am going to Canada for a year, and I’m sure I’ll be painting over there too.
Will there be plans for an show of all the paintings you’ve done through the years?
I’d love to but they are all over the place due to a  lot of borrowing and transporting.Someday… hopefully not  after my funeral hahaha .
Picture courtesy of Dav Nagle
2 thoughts on “Donie’s Message of Peace

  1. He is so right…art can hurt and heal (as well as be a comfort.). In many ways it’s a way to let go. Our societies in the West have become almost like armed camps with the extremists within, and without. In my opinion touches us with the pain of our collective lives, but at the same time gives a real healing touch. I could never do without the healing embrace of music and art is as important to me as my my mornings with the natural world.

    Like

  2. A way to let go… yes it is the most liberating line I know. Thank you Christi. The collective lives we lead is reflected through art. These days i am finding more and more people wanting to connect. I guess most of us lead lonely lives cloaked in the facade of being normal. It is good to know that the internet can provide a comfort and realization. It is great to know that we are all tied together by that same longing. To strive to live in a better world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

