Pure Celtic

The green album box plus the shamrock design looks inviting. For non Celtic listeners this would sound like a chill out record to own. 60 tracks of the best sounds and voices in the world in this Sony release. Quite a blessing especially for a 4CD album with a very reasonable price. The way the songs are compiled create a consistent mood throughout. It’s not like one track is sticking out like a sore thumb. Everything blends seamlessly.

I am the type of person who has to test the record before bring it home. There are hidden agendas here:

  1. To know if the record has scratches or other defects.
  2. 2. Record stores have bigger speakers and it is always nice to have your Celtic music in full blast( in competition with Lady Gaga or Justin Beiber)
  3. I like smelling new recordings.

There are artists here who aren’t really Celtic but I guess Sony decided to include them because of the ethereal mood they invoke. The band October Project (Where You Are, Deep as You Go) and Sarah McLachlan (Angel, Fallen) are examples of this. It’s kind of sad to know that Sony music is the same label that killed October Project. Later on we see it recycling music perhaps after realizing that even now the band still have this loyal following.

The good this about this compilation is the inclusion of Capercaillie’s Coisich, a Ruin and Molly Ban (Bawn) by The Chieftains (vocals by Alison Krauss). The production is superb especially the packaging which sits well with your coffee table.

Release Date: 17 November 2010
Style: Celtic Format: 4
Label: Sony Music Entertainment

CD 1 Tracklisting:

01. Clannad – Theme From Harry’s Game
02. The Chieftains – Molly Bán (Bawn)
03. Sarah McLachlan – Angel
04. Brian Dunning / Janet Chvatal / Jeff Johnson – cùChulainn’s Last Battle
05. James Galway / Marisa Robles – Brian Boru’s March
06. Capercaillie – Servant To The Slave
07. Lisa Lynne – Fields Of Gold
08. Davy Spillane – A Place Among The Stones
09. October Project – Where You Are
10. Mary Mc Laughlin – Stor Mo Chroí
11. Finbar Wright – You’ll Never Walk Alone
12. Christy Moore – Black Is The Colour
13. The Clancy Brothers / Tommy Makem – Irish Rover
14. Cherish The Ladies – Thady Casey’s Fancy/The Ladies Pantalettes/The Monaghan Twig/The Linen Cap
15. The Young Dubliners – Foggy Dew

CD 2 Tracklisting:

01. Jeff Beck – Declan
02. Fairground Attraction – Ay Fond Kiss
03. Clannad & Bono – In A Lifetime
04. David Arkenstone – The Dragon’s Breath
05. Celtus – Moonchild
06. Máire Brennan – An Fharraige
07. Carlos Nuñez – Saint Patrick’s Polka
08. Cherish The Ladies – Rolling in the Barrel/Pinch of Snuff/Vincent Campbell’s/The Galloping Hound
09. Capercaillie – The Whinney Hills Jigs
10. W.G. Snuffy Walden – By The River Shannon
11. Cantara – Waiting For The Wind
12. Aine Minogue / Alasdair Halliday – Rosemary Faire (Song of Lughnasadh)
13. The Incredible E. G. O’Reilly – An Chúileann
14. Christy Moore – Finnegan’s Wake
15. Kate Smith / Arthur Fiedler – Danny Boy

CD 3 Tracklisting:

01. Lisa Lynne – Circle Of Joy
02. Máire Brennan – Eirigh Suas A Stoirin
03. Brian Kennedy – Carrickfergus
04. Phil Cunningham – Strathglass
05. David Arkenstone – Cailleach’s Whisper
06. Nightnoise – The Rose Of Tralee
07. Cherish The Ladies – The Curragh of Kildaire
08. Eleanor McEvoy – Whisper A Prayer To The Moon
09. Clannad – Robin (The Hooded Man)
10. Sally Oldfield – Natasha
11. Davy Spillane – Forever Frozen
12. Capercaillie – Coisich, a Rùin
13. The Gallowglass Ceili Band – Haste To the Wedding/The Irish Washerwoman
14. Roger Whittaker – I’ll Tell Me Ma
15. Finbar Wright – Will Ye Go, Lassie Go

CD 4 Tracklisting:

01. The Chieftains – Opening Medley
02. The Young Dubliners – Rocky Road To Dublin
03. October Project – Deep As You Go
04. Celtus – Strange Day In The Country
05. Sarah McLachlan – Fallen
06. Aine Minogue / John Arimond – Silence
07. Clannad – I Will Find You
08. William Coulter / Todd Denman / Shelley Phillips / Deby Benton Grosjean / Paul Machlis / Heidrun Hoffmann / Barry Phillips / Theo Paige – Keening Of The Three Marys
09. Mary Mc Laughlin / William Coulter – Caoineadh Na Mara/Amen (Lament of the Sea)
10. Phil Coulter – The Shores Of The Swilly
11. Jeff Johnson / Rick Crittenden / Tim Ellis / Roger Hadley / Brian Willis / Brian Dunning – Way of the Warrior
12. Christy Moore – Beeswing (Live)
13. The Clancy Brothers / Tommy Makem – The Leaving Of Liverpool
14. Eileen Ivers – Crowley’s/Jackson’s
15. James Galway / Henry Mancini – Pennywhistle Jig


 Music News

All Ireland Fleadh 2011 Cavan – Harcourt Hotel


Monday at 20:00 – Tuesday at 02:00


Harcourt Hotel, 60 Harcourt St, Dublin 2.

Created by:

Traditional Harcourt Sessions


All Ireland Fleadh 2011 Cavan
In Harcourt Hotel Dublin April Monday 18th 8.30pm
… Call 01 4783677

Your Host on the night Martin Donohoe Cavan ! Please join us and all the Musicians participating from 8.30 pm – A great evening of Ceol, Amhrain agus Craic galore.. with Dancing and maybe a few sets if space allows

Among many travelling to the Event and giving their services free on the night are :

Sean O Se Cork (Singer)
John Carty Roscommon (Banjo and Fiddle)
Seamus Fay Cavan (Lilter)
Fintan Mc Manus Fermanagh (Bouzouki)
Patsy Hanly Roscommon (Flute)
Roisin OReilly Cavan (Singer)
John Mc Sherry Antrim (Piper)
Donal OConnor Louth (Fiddle)
Cathal Lynch Tyrone (Singer)
Anton McGabhann Cavan (fiddle)
Brid Harper Donegal (Fiddle)
Martin Gaffney Cavan (Flute)
Darren Maloney (Cavan (Banjo)
Daoiri Farrell Dublin (Singer)
Gary Lynch Fermanagh (Fiddle)
Kavan Donohoe Cavan (Harp)
Dave Sheridan Leitrim (Flute)
Philip Clarke Cavan (Piano)
Trevor Bury Cavan (Bodhran)
Laura Crossan Leitrim (Dancer)
John Campbell Louth (Guitar)
Niall Preston Dublin (Bodhran)
Joe Brennan Cavan (Guitar)


POITIN – A.C.W. Saloon, Plzen

http://www.reverbnation.com/poitin http://www.poitin.cz http://www.myspace.com/poitinkapela


15 April · 20:30 – 23:30


A.C.W. SaloonKollarova 18Plzen, Czech Republic

Created by:

Jeremy Poitin

More info

Irish night!



4 thoughts on “Pure Celtic

  1. Bax,
    That CD packet of yours sounds almost too good to be true!! Finding something that good must have made you feel like you had a pot of gold nearby! I will be looking for that one here now. Finding a CD with that many well known artists with so many well known songs is really a lucky find, and I am jealous.

    I always love the Chieftains and this video is no exception…though I have admit I have never seen Alison Krauss singing like this! Lovely!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s