A Peek Into Phil Holland and Dave Palmley’s The Visit

Phil Holland sent me a Christmas gift. It’s a track off the new album The Visit. Yes I heard it first before it’s been released and I felt so privileged to be part of this very interesting project between her and Dave Palmley. I’ve known Phil for a time now when I got to interview her.

“Brave warrior and I Into Battle Jig” is a beautiful track. Somehow it reminds me of the instrumental pieces that Loreena McKennitt makes. It evokes the history of the continental Celts as they go into battle with the Romans during the time of Julius Caesar. It’s a piece of haunting , sad but also uplifting melodies. There are moments of pure contemplative power especially in the  first part and then it gathers tempo around 1:39. I found myself swaying and tapping my foot.  I literally got goosebumps. The duo has cast a spell with this song.  I know you guys will not only single out this song but will love the whole album. As for the vocals, Phil has created a refreshing take on traditional materials with her distinctive style. Very different .

This is what I enjoy about collaborative work. The mixing of ideas from different styles always create something special. It’s like a witches’ brew that puts a spell on you. Now if you want to hear other tracks off this album, I am providing links to YouTube. I tell ya fellas they made my eyeballs roll!

If you want to buy a copy, please contact: lmcrecords2011@gmail.com

For the other songs please visit their youtube channel:

http://www.youtube.com/user/PhilandDavePalmley

Album TRACK LIST:

1: BRAVE WARRIOR, I and INTO BATTLE JIG (Holland and Palmley)
2:BAIDIN FHEILIMI (trad arr by Holland and Palmley)
3:WHISKEY IN THE JAR (trad arr by Holland and Palmley)
4:THE DOYLES’ BIG DAY OUT IN DUBLIN (Holland and Palmley)
5:THE VISIT (Holland and Palmley)
6:THE CLARE JIG and FROM THE NEW COUNTRY (trad arr by Holland and Palmley)
7:SHIP WITHOUT ANCHOR (Holland and Palmley)
8:THE BUTTERFLY JIG (trad arr by Holland and Palmley)
9:BONNIE DOON (trad arr by Holland and Palmley)
10:THE HILLS OF CONNEMARA (trad arr by Holland and Palmley)
11:THE 24 CARROTS JIG (Holland and Palmley)
12:MY HOUSE (Holland and Palmley)


One thought on “A Peek Into Phil Holland and Dave Palmley’s The Visit

Leave a Reply

