Afro Celt Sound System are Back!

My goodness! I just realized I haven’t finished my article for today. So instead of giving you full I am just giving you one news. But not to disappoint you, I will post some videos here which you might find interesting. Anyway see you tomorrow or the next day…

This video features Peter Gabriel on vocals.

This one is with Iarla O’Lanaird

If your musical orientation is somewhere between Peter Gabriel and Dead Can Dance, then I’m sure you never passed an opportunity to get the first album of The Afro Celt Sound System titled Volume 1: Sound Magic when it first came out in 1996. In the Science lab of sound, imagine this:  Iarla O’Lanaird’s sean nos singing meets African and Irish instruments seal that off with irresistible rhythm built from modern technology and bam! You get one of the most powerful concoctions that can render people speechless and hypnotized. To quote from their website: Released in 1996, Sound Magic combined acoustic performances on bodhran, talking drum, Celtic harp, African kora, uilleann pipes and Irish whistles with 21st-century programming and grooves, and married ancient singing traditions from Ireland and Kenya to keyboard drones and techno beats. Rather than sounding kitschy or disparate, the end result was surprisingly cohesive… and beautiful. Getting that hulk of an album, I’m sure you became a fervent collector up to this time when they have established themselves in the music world(after a 5-year hiatus, they are back this year with an album and tour news).  They caught my attention when they performed live in Gael Force way back ’97 an from then on, I never let the band off my radar. More at   www.myspace.com/afrocelts and  afroceltsoundsystem.net/
Upcoming Shows ( view all )
Jul 15 2010 12:00P
Hebridean Celtic Festival, Scotland. GB
Jul 17 2010 12:00P
Colours of Ostrava, Czech Republic. CZ
Jul 25 2010 12:00P
Womad UK, Charlton Park, UK. US
Aug 29 2010 12:00P
Shrewsbury Folk Festival, Shrewsbury, UK GB
Sep 4 2010 12:00P
Electric Picnic, Stradbally, Ireland IE
Nov 2 2010 7:30P
Barbican London, London, UNITED KINGDOM Find Tickets
2 thoughts on “Afro Celt Sound System are Back!

  1. Really? *rubs her eyes* Really? *does a happy dance*
    I love Afro Celt Sound System and thought they were gone forever. I can’t wait to get my hands on that album!
    I just happened to stumble on your blog through Blog Catalog and with this post, you’ve hooked me. 😉
    I’ll have to check the rest of your selection later though. My bed’s calling me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

