The Rowdy Nomads Music

I got a press release in my mailbox and warmed up to this duo. New York based The Gypsy Nomads is what happens when gothic and punk sensibilities meet bohemian folk. It’ like Siouxsie Sioux all of a sudden falls into a rabbit hole and gets to meet the likes of Seamus Ennis and Ofra Hasa. Terms like rowdy, naughty and festive get you on the mood right away. And you gotta swear the costumes are part of something that you don’t want to miss. This is continental Celtic with hints of Parisian sophistication.

http://www.myspace.com/thegypsynomads

***

The Scottish band Capercaillie is back. After listening to their entire discography from 1984’s Cascade up to Roses and Tears, I could say that the band has never lost its vision yet continued to explore new frontiers in terms of style and production. The music is also centered around the voice of Karen Matheson who possesses “a throat kissed by God” according to a music critic.  Folk bands set us an example that innovation should work hand in hand with musical identity. Without it, then bands would sound like Madonna, though continuing to inspire novelty and sell, they can also loose their place in history as a force ( as with the case of musicians who sell because their names are bigger than their music). Capercaillie are one of those bands who will be performing at the 40th Interceltique Festival in Lorient France this August. So if you have a plan of going there, don’t forget to drop by Brittany and feast your ears to this one of a kind music gathering. By the way it is half past two in the afternoon and I am listening to Nadurra in low volume . It is partly cloudy and the birds are singing outside.

***

Black is the Color (Of My True Love’s Hair) has been covered by many artists. For the information of bands and artists who recorded this song, please refer to this link . And although they are all interesting in their own way, I think that Cara Dillon’s version of the song really nailed the sentiments home. Maybe it’s her vulnerable voice or the begging quiver at around 2:36 of the song..” I go to the Clyde and mourn and weep
satisfied I never will sleep
” that simply tugs at your heart. Being from Northern Ireland I think, is also part of of what gives honesty to her version of this classic. You have to be in that part of the world to know what this kind of loss means.

Black is the colour of my true love’s hair.
Her lips are like a rose so fair.
She’s got the sweetest face and the gentlest hands.
I love the ground where on she stands.

I love my love and well she knows.
I love the ground where on she goes.
And how I wish the day would come
when she and I can be as one.

Black is the colour of my true love’s hair.
Her lips are like a rose so fair.
She’s got the sweetest face and the gentlest hands.
I love the ground where on she stands.

I go to the Clyde and mourn and weep
satisfied I never will sleep.
I ‘ll write her a letter, just a few short lines
And suffer death ten thousand times.

7 thoughts on “The Rowdy Nomads Music

  1. Capercaillie is a group I have enjoyed for years! It is good to hear they have something new out to enjoy.

    I will have to check out the Gypsy Nomads and Cara Dillon. I love the song “Black is the Colour,” too. It’s heart wrenching in so many ways.

    Like

Leave a Reply

